Helpful little plants

securedownload (1)

This is a type of moss named anthoceros

I clicked this photo in Tamhini ghat, a very popular mountain pass and picnic spot in Pune district. It is loved for its scenic waterfalls and lush greenery during the monsoon. The mountains are often covered in thick fog and unveil their green carpeted slopes not unless a strong wind clears the view and the best time to visit Tamhini is monsoon, without doubt.

I loved this photo. Instead of simply posting it on the blog, I wanted to present it with a short description. So I gathered some information and did a little research on Bryophytes.

While surfing the internet I came accross an interesting fact

Did you know, that moss prevents soil erosion?

Well, yes! It does.

I was pretty fascinated by this newly discovered fact.

Such delicate life forms doing their part in helping the environment.

How cool is that!

 

And here it is. The green kingdom of Tamhini ghat.

 

19

 

2 thoughts on “Helpful little plants

Add yours

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑