The rugged moon


Image

As evening fell, I hurriedly ran to the top of my house. The post monsoon skies were something that I loved the most. I walked up the stairs and stepped on the terrace floor. It was very cold. While searching for a clean place to settle down a cool gust of wind lifted my hair, caressing the back of my sweaty neck. I sat down, pulling my legs close to my chest to fight the crazy cold wind.

I looked up at the sky. It showed a hazy outline of the moon in the sky-blue coloured sky. The clouds silently sailed, travelling where the winds accompanied them. They buried the moon every now and then.

Birds were heading home as it was time for the orange ball of fire to shine on the other side of our planet. The sun silently descended lower and lower, and within no time disappeared, yet sprayed it’s golden soft light in the cloud filled evening sky.

Twilight. The sky changed its colours from red to orange, from orange to pink and from pink gradually faded into a greyish hue. The sky slowly turned darker and darker and the moon turned brighter and brighter.

An eerie bat flying haphazardly was silhouetted as it passed across the moon, and in the blink of an eye; vanished into thin air.

The colour of the sky was now deep purple.

Gradually, it turned black and got crowded with millions of twinkling, tiny white dots. They looked like glitter sprinkled on a silky black fabric.

Amidst the massive cluster of stars hung the rugged moon, prepared to rule the night sky. It had a scarred surface. It did not twinkle. But the light it reflected was bright enough to reach me. It looked Beautiful.

7 thoughts on “The rugged moon

Add yours

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑